B&Q Alphabet Blogger Event: DIY Wooden Letter

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to attend a hands-on B&Q blogger event with Channel 4’s very own Salvage Sister, Charis Williams, at The Proud Archivist near Haggerston in London.

Whilst many people associate B&Q with blokes and builders, the aim of the event was to show crafts-people and interior stylists that B&Q is also a great place to go for one-off DIY projects.

S

With the help of Charis and B&Q’s resident handyman, Pete, we were shown how to make our own wooden letter using planks of wood and a jigsaw. Lucky for us, Charis had already pencilled our letters onto a backboard of MDF, so our first job was to use the jigsaw to cut out our letter.

Using jigsaw

I’m sure poor Pete must have taken one look at me in my smart work clothes and feared the worst, but he turned out to be a fantastic teacher, and I was soon jig-sawing away. The key is to use clamps to secure the wood to the work bench nice and securely, so that there are no reverberations.

Charis and Pete

Straight lines can be done with a hand-held circular saw, whilst corners and curves are best done with a jigsaw. For letters with a hole in the middle, such as ‘A’, you have to use a drill to create a hole in the centre, before using the jigsaw to remove the inner shape – a bit more fiddly, but do-able!

DSCF3574

Once done, we took to our work stations and laid wooden planks over the MDF, marking with a pencil, ruler and protractor where we needed to cut the planks so that they would fit on top. Thankfully, Pete came to my rescue to help me keep up with the rest of the class, as my ‘S’ was proving a bit tricky!

Letter S

Whilst at the event, we had the opportunity to talk to Valspar UK and learn how they can create any paint colour without compromise – now available in B&Q stores. We were also able to take away a few tester pots including the official B&Q orange, and I selected You’re Blushing – a very pale pink.

I still need to finish my letter, but I’m loving how it looks so far, and it will be a great addition to my craft room. Once I’ve tidied up the edges, I’ll use my No More Nails wood adhesive to glue the planks to the MDF, before nailing them with my new Titan nail gun (thanks for that, Pete!) for good measure.

Letter S

All in all, I had a really fantastic time, and it was a pleasure to meet Charis and Pete, as well as some top bloggers in the craft and interior design spheres, namely Sian from Moregeous, Hester from Hester’s Handmade Home, and the fabulous girls from The New Craft Society.

To the awe of everyone on my train, I also came away with a B&Q bag bulging with goodies including hammers, grips, paint brushes, nail guns – you name it! It was quite a conversation starter…

B&Q goody bag

The one down side to the event? I couldn’t get the sawdust off my shoes for weeks!

Unofficial Disclaimer: To Charis’ relief, no bloggers were harmed in the making of these letters =D

3 thoughts on “B&Q Alphabet Blogger Event: DIY Wooden Letter

    • Hi Fiona, I think it was a one-off I’m afraid, but I agree – it would be great to be able to go along to local B&Q workshops on the weekend. We’ll have to see if they plan anything that’s open to everyone =) Thanks for dropping by the blog! Shelley

  1. Pingback: 2015 in Review and Blogging Goals | Shelley Makes

Leave a Reply

