Sewing Geometric Christmas Cards

Christmas is one of my favourite times of year – I love the cosiness, and the handmade gestures. This year, I decided to make a few Christmas cards for my nearest and dearest.

Four cards

Inspired by the branding of Mote & Produksjon (Fashion & Production), I decided to get with the trend and sew different geometric patterns onto the front of my A5 cards.

Geometric Sewing Card

Instructions:

Start by creating your A5 folded cards (cutting down from A4 if necessary). I used dark colours (a navy, and mocha) that would contrast with my cream cotton thread.

I decided to make my pattern 5cm x 5cm, so I cut out a template square to size that I could position where I wanted the pattern to be, and marked the corners with a pencil.

Using the marks as a guide, I then made further pencil marks every 1.25cm until I had a square grid consisting of 25 dots. Using a needle, I then pierced holes over each of the dots.

Geometric shape

I used a cream cotton thread for my patterns, and selected the designs by Mote & Produksjon that had the most festive feel – aka, the ones that most resembled stars and snowflakes!

Once each pattern was complete, I tied the ends of the thread together on the inside of the card and cut the loose ends. I then added a smaller black paper insert to each card.

Sewing Geometric Cards

I tried two different techniques for this – on some I used double-sided tape to secure the insert, whilst on a couple of the designs, I stitched the spine to bind the insert to the card.

Personally, I love a good theme – you could also make matching gift tags using the same emblems. What do you think? Are you handy with a needle and thread?

What Christmas cards have you been making?

11 thoughts on “Sewing Geometric Christmas Cards

  1. I may just be overthinking this because it’s a bad habit of mine, but did you actually sew the patterns on? If you did, then wouldn’t there be a gap between the edges instead of a continuous snowflake? Sorry, I’m such a newbie when it comes to this but these cards are just simply to lovely to pass up!

    • Oh God I’m so stupid, I didn’t realize how you threaded it until I blew up the patterns picture. Sorry for my idiocy and thank you for sharing these very beautiful cards! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Heya! No, don’t worry at all. In fairness to you, there is no picture to help explain, but yes, it is all one continuous thread – up through the back, down through the front, and so on =) The black insert helps hide the messy workings at the back. Good luck!

  2. These are so simple but beautiful! I steer away from handmade cards because it seems they are overlooked and not very appreciated, considering the time and effort spent. But for something so simple I could be convinced to try it again. Thanks for the idea!

    • I know exactly what you mean. I only make them for people I know will appreciate them! The worst part is when they don’t even realise they’re homemade – definitely need some large ‘Made by…’ stickers or stamps to drive the point home =) Good luck!

  3. Sorry for the so many comments, you might be tired of me now haha but I noticed the link to Mote & Produksjon doesn’t work ๐Ÿ˜ฆ IDK if that’s just me because I don’t have Pinterest haha

  4. Pingback: Christmas Gift #7 | Fluency

Leave a Reply

